Tools for Researches

Reference Management Software – Zotero

Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool that helps to collect, organize, cite, and sharethe research sources.

Zotero is capable of generating bibliographies according to the numerous bibliographic styles such as American Psychological Association (APA) Style, Chicago Manual of Style, Harvard Reference Format etc.

 

Downloads

Zotero – Standalone version

Zotero – Firefox version (Firefox web browser is required to run this version)

Firefox web browser

 

Documentation

Installation Guide

Screencast Tutorials

 

Contact the Skills Development Unit (Tel: 011-2881263) for technical assistance

 

A Tool Kit for Research

Toolkit for Scholarly Purposes –free and open source applications

Specialized Web Search Engines and Web Portals

Scholarly articles, research papers and learning resources

Scholar Google – http://scholar.google.com/

Genamic Journal Seek –  http://journalseek.net/
BASE – http://www.base-search.net/
iSEEK – http://education.iseek.com/iseek/home.page
refSeek – http://www.refseek.com

 

Books
Google Book Search – http://books.google.com/
Book Finder – http://www.bookfinder.com/
Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/

 

Images, clip arts, PowerPoint templates, backgrounds
Google Images – http://images.google.com/
Animation Factory: http://www.animationfactory.com/en/
Fppt.com – http://www.free-power-point-templates.com

 

Maps and atlases
Google Maps – http://maps.google.com/
Worldatlus –  http://www.worldatlas.com/

 

Videos

Internet Archive – http://archive.org/details/movies

Academic Earth – http://www.academicearth.org/

YouTube EDU – http://www.youtube.com/education

TeacherTube – http://www1.teachertube.com/

 

People
Yahoo People Search – http://people.yahoo.com/
Find a person – http://person.langenberg.com/

 

Metasearch engines

Dopile – http://www.dogpile.com/
Metacrawler: http://www.metacrawler.com/
Webcrawler – http://www.webcrawler.com/
Mamma – http://www.mamma.com/

 

Reference Materials

Wikipedia (English) – http://en.wikipedia.org/
Wikipedia (Sinhala) – http://si.wikipedia.org/
Wikipedia (Tamil) – http://ta.wikipedia.org/
Britannica Online – http://www.britannica.com/
Webopedia – http://www.webopedia.com/
Dictionary.com –  http://dictionary.reference.com/
Thesaurus.com – http://thesaurus.reference.com/
Reference.com – http://www.reference.com/
DictionaryBoss – http://download.dictionaryboss.com/
Kapruka Sinhala Tamil online Dictionaryhttp://www.lanka.info/dictionary/EnglishToSinhala.jsp

Madura Online Dictionary –  http://maduraonline.com/
Sinhala Dictionary Resources online – http://www.sinhaladictionary.org/
English-Tamil/ Tamil-English Dictionary –http://www.dictionary.tamilcube.com/

 

 

Translating Tools

Google translate – http://translate.google.com

WorldLingo Translate Free Online – http://www.worldlingo.com/

SDL FreeTranslation – http://www.freetranslation.com/

IM translator Prompt Online – http://text-to-speech.imtranslator.net/

Dictionary.com Translator – http://translate.reference.com/

 

Online Language Converters

Google Transliteration – http://www.google.com/transliterate

Tamilcube.com (English to Sinhala converter) –http://www.tamilcube.com/translate/sinhalese.aspx
Tamilcube.com (English to Tamil converter) –http://www.tamilcube.com/res/tamilpad.htm

 

Information Sharing and Data Backup Tools

Photo sharing tools
Flicker – http://www.flickr.com/
Picasa – http://picasa.google.com/
ImageSack – http://www.imageshack.us/

 

Presentation sharing tools
Slideshare – http://www.slideshare.net/
Slideboom – http://www.slideboom.com/
Slidesnck – http://www.slidesnack.com/

 

Online web boxes
Dropbox – https://www.dropbox.com/
CX.com – https://www.cx.com/

 

Sending large files
LargeFiles ASAP – send large files via e-mail –http://www.largefilesasap.com/

 

Tools to handle long web links
Tiny URL (tool to shorten URLs) – http://www.tiny.cc/
Google URL Shortner (tool to shorten URLs) – http://goo.gl/
Bitly (tool to shorten URLs) – https://bitly.com/
Long URL (tool to expand shortened URLs) – http://longurl.org/expand

 

File compressing tools
Online Convert.com (compress files to zip format) – http://archive.online-convert.com/
7-Zip – http://www.7-zip.org/

 

File Format Converters

Free File Converter – http://www.freefileconvert.com/
PDF Converter – http://www.freepdfconvert.com/
Docx to Doc converter – http://www.doc.investintech.com/
Format Factory (video, audio, picture formats to others) –http://www.formatoz.com/
NCH Software – http://www.nchsoftware.com/software/converters.html
ZAMZAR – http://www.zamzar.com/tools/

 

Screen Capture Tools

Snipping Tool (Windows 7, Windows Vista)
ScreenHunter – http://wisdom-soft.com/products/screenhunter_free.htm

 

Reference Management Tools

EasyBib Automatic Bibliography and Citation Maker –http://www.easybib.com/
Zotero – http://www.zotero.org/
CiteULike – http://www.citeulike.org/
Mendeley – http://www.mendeley.com/

 

Plagiarism Detection Tools

Plagiarisma.Net – http://plagiarisma.net/
Duplicate Checker (plagiarism detection tool:  http://www.duplichecker.com/
Plagiarism Detect – http://plagiarism-detect.com/
Plagiarism Checker – http://www.dustball.com/cs/plagiarism.checker/
Chimsky – http://chimpsky.uwaterloo.ca/

 

Download Managers

Free Download Manager – http://www.freedownloadmanager.org/
FlashGet – http://www.flashget.com/en/download.htm